Fueling Your Coding Mojo

Buckle up, fellow PHP enthusiast! We're loading up the rocket fuel for your coding adventures...

Popular Searches:

What are the scalar types available in PHP 7 and later versions?

Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to PHP and recently I came across the term "scalar types" in PHP. From what I understand, scalar types are data types that can hold only a single value at a time, such as integers, floats, booleans, and strings.

I've heard that in PHP 7 and later versions, there have been some changes and new scalar types introduced. I'm curious to know what the scalar types available in these versions of PHP are. Can someone please shed some light on this for me?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

All Replies



As a fellow PHP enthusiast, I'm happy to share my knowledge about scalar types in PHP 7 and beyond.

In the newer versions of PHP, several scalar types have been introduced to enhance type-checking and make the code more robust. These scalar types include:

1. int: This type is used to represent integer values, which are whole numbers without any fractional parts. Examples of integers include 10, -5, and 0.

2. float: The float type deals with floating-point numbers, which have decimal places. Floating-point values are useful for handling calculations involving non-integer numbers. For instance, 3.14 or -2.71828 are float values.

3. bool: The bool type is employed to store boolean values, which represent either true or false. Booleans are essential for logical evaluations and conditionals, enabling you to control the flow of your program based on specific conditions.

4. string: Strings are widely used in PHP for storing text-based data. They are sequences of characters enclosed in quotes. For instance, "Hello, PHP!" or '12345' are strings. They allow manipulation and handling of textual information.

These scalar types can be utilized to define the expected data types of function return values or function parameters. By explicitly declaring these types, PHP can verify appropriate data types at compile-time or runtime, ensuring code integrity and reducing the likelihood of type-related errors.

Please remember that scalar typing is not enforced by default and needs to be explicitly enabled. However, once implemented, it can provide valuable benefits in terms of code reliability.

If you have further questions or need any more details, feel free to ask. Happy coding!


Hey there!

In PHP 7 and later versions, there are new scalar types added, which provide better type-checking and stricter type enforcement. The scalar types available in these versions are:

1. int: This represents integers, which are whole numbers without any decimal points. For example, 5 and -10 are integers.

2. float: This represents floating-point numbers, which are numbers that contain decimal points. For instance, 3.14 and -2.5 are floats.

3. bool: This represents boolean values, which can be either true or false. Booleans are handy for conditional statements and logical operations.

4. string: This represents a sequence of characters, like "hello" or 'world'. Strings are commonly used to handle text-based data.

These scalar types can be used as function return types or for defining parameter types, ensuring that the expected data type is passed and returned. However, it's worth noting that scalar types are not required by default, and you need to explicitly declare them.

I hope this clears things up for you! If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.

New to LearnPHP.org Community?

Join the community